Question about FG and bottling

A spot to talk general homebrew
jlittlechilds
Name: Josh Littlechilds

Question about FG and bottling

Post by jlittlechilds » Thu May 07, 2020 2:24 pm

Hey All,

I'm totally new at this, and for my first batch, i forgot to stop the temperature fluctuation in my house (19 degrees during the day and down to 16 at night) on my auto thermometer, and i think it messed up my fermentation, as my OG was 1.065 and my FG was 1.045 ish. Like an idiot (looked up stuff afterwards, hindsight 20/20), i still bottled this beer knowing that the FG was super high and it likely didn't have a lot of alcohol in it, but whatever - it was my first batch and i'm gonna see it through.

i bottled a week ago and just took a gravity reading for shiggles and:

a) my bottle wasn't a bomb and didn't explode - yay!
b) it wasn't nearly as sweet as when it went in
c) my gravity reading and it was 1.01

There wasn't a ton of carbonation so i didn't think it would ferment that much. I drank the bottle (500ml) and can confirm it's definitely in the 5% range for ABV.

has anyone experienced fermentation like this in a bottle? is my gravity reading totally off because of the carbonation in the beer?

honestly, the beer tasted pretty good, just a little flat. I'm gonna leave it another week and try another bottle, hopefully it's a bit more carbonated but i'm gonna call this a win for my first batch either way haha.

Thanks!

Josh

wcturnedec
Award Winner 1
Award Winner 1
Name: Cam

Re: Question about FG and bottling

Post by wcturnedec » Thu May 07, 2020 3:15 pm

jlittlechilds wrote:
Thu May 07, 2020 2:24 pm
Hey All,