RODI vs. Dartmouth tap water

A spot to talk general homebrew
nlkips
Name: Adam

RODI vs. Dartmouth tap water

Post by nlkips » Mon Feb 11, 2019 12:56 pm

I was wondering if it's better to use RODI or just the regular tap water (Dartmouth) for making IPA style beer. I'm just getting into all grain brewing and don't have anything for measuring water parameters as I sold all that stuff when I got out of the reef hobby. Or would anyone have a base line of additives that they add to RODI water for brewing.

Thanks

Celiacbrew
Verified User
Verified User
Name: Mike E.

Re: RODI vs. Dartmouth tap water

Post by Celiacbrew » Mon Feb 11, 2019 1:36 pm

I find our tap water has an objectionable flavour to it so I filter it through two rv filters. I would use reverse osmosis but the benefit isn’t big enough for me to justify the cost.

For water profile if you want a general guideline I will point you to AJ delange’s primer on water chemistry https://www.homebrewtalk.com/forum/thre ... er.198460/

For me an IPA will usually take a few ml of 75% phosphoric acid and about a teaspoon each of cacl and gypsum.

To get a little closer it is worth learning to use one of the free excel sheets like brun’ Water https://sites.google.com/site/brunwater/

Also you can find example water reports in the water reports thread on this site or from Halifax water’s annual report.
_____________________________________________________________________________________

Mike E.

John G
Award Winner 2
Award Winner 2
Name: John

Post by John G » Mon Feb 11, 2019 1:40 pm

Have a look at the sticky in this forum on HRM water profiles.

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=2284

That's a good indication of where you're starting from. Note that this changes seasonally though and the reports are only a snapshot in time.